Disney’s ‘Frozen’ Review

Standard

Tangled with Ice? Disney’s Frozen breathes life into their animation department with their new addition to the classics vault. Frozen was a surprisingly fresh movie, that overall didn’t feel like a rehashing of their previous films. Elsa and Ana are welcomed warmly to my movie shelf as soon as it’s available on Blu-Ray.

I have to remind all of you readers that I am usually completely indifferent about Animated movies and usually don’t give them the time of day but Frozen absolutely blew me away with the wonderful soundtrack that is so catchy, it should play baseball. I review things a bit different from others, I break each item about the film that I think stood out and give it an individual review.

Story: The story of Frozen was done very well, I was surprised to see “powers” in this movie, and the way they used them so gracefully without pushing the border of becoming “Incredibly Tangled” (get the reference?) was great. The plot twist was better than Iron Man 3’s but that’s another article, and I usually do not have a hard time predicting these things but I have to admit, I was surprised, maybe this is because I typically stay away from Disney movies. The relationship between Elsa and Anna was done very well and it worked, it provoked emotion, made me laugh, want to shed a tear, hug my parents, and oddly made me want to build a snowman. This was an instant re-watch for me and for that I give it a 4 out of 5 on story.

Elsa and Ana

Elsa and Anna

Soundtrack: The soundtrack on Frozen pleasantly surprised me and was extremely catchy and fun to sing afterwards. The soundtrack managed to dethrone Beyoncé with her new self-titled album, remaining at the number one spot on iTunes for two consecutive weeks. My favorite song on the soundtrack is “Let it Go” both the Idina Menzel and Demi Lovato brought the songs to life brilliantly. My honorable mention is “Do you want to build a snowman?” Performed by Kristen Bell, Agatha Lee Monn and Katie Lopez (Kristen’s eight-year-old daughter). The progression of the characters just throughout the song with little to no words was amazing, the song was beautifully done, and is never forgotten. The soundtrack tops off at a 5 out of 5.

Anna

Anna

Voice-Acting & Animation: The voice acting in this movie was superb, I’ve seen some movies where the voices just don’t fit the character’s attitude, or look, they casted this movie perfectly. Kristen Bell (Anna) and Idina Menzel (Elsa) were sensational, not only did they have expression through speech down, they can sing! Some honorable mentions to Jonthan Groff (Kristoff), Josh Gad (Olaf), and Santino Fontana (Hans). Voice-Acting 5 out of 5. The animation in this movie looked good but lacked originality (see photo). Anna closely resembled, Repunzel from Tangled, and some of the other character templates were very similar to Tangled as well. Animation gets a 3 out of 5 stars.

Seriously Disney?

Seriously Disney?

Overall, even if you hate animation, Disney, or anything to do with the cold, you should still go give this terrific movie a chance. Disney managed to win me over with this, and I will be viewing their movies in the future. The movie is rated as a 4 out of 5 overall and has definitely become a new classic welcome Anna and Elsa to the coveted Disney “vault” of icons.

Leave a Reply

